top of page
TOYS THAT KILL - Shanked! (CD)

TOYS THAT KILL - Shanked! (CD)


01. Katzenscheibe Uber Alles 
02. Bomb Sniffin' Dogs 
03. Bill Buckner 
04. Run Away... 
05. Safe & Warm 
06. Mr. Hubbard's Dead 
07. They Caught Us All 
08. They Tied Up All Our Lace 
09. Katzenscheibe Uber Alles 
10. Widows On Welfare 
11. Liar's Hook 
12. I Hate Karma 
13. Peeping On Peeping Tom 
14. The Worm's Inside 
15. Sound Check World 
16. Activate 
17. 31 Year Old Daydream


This album should've been called C'mon Catman Light My Fire due to all the fires related. The day I got home from Austin after recording this, my place and the Recess HQ caught on fire. One week later, Sweatbox Studio (where we record) caught on fire mildly. One month later the building caught on fire and totally burnt down. The building was owned by the same guy that got shot by Dick Cheney! But that aforementioned title is totally lame and you should thank me for not going down that route. Your welcome! —T.C.


In the late '80s, F.Y.P started out playing fast, juvenile hardcore, gradually morphing into playing fast,sloppy pop. The bands benchmark release, 1993's Dance My Dunce, was a breath of fresh air. With spastic classics like "Vacation Bible School", 2000 AD, and "Fuck You and a Half", F.Y.P brought a juvenile sense of kiddy power into their sound. Singing about important themes like school lunches and ding-dong ditching, F.Y.P were the pinnacle of youthful pop aggresion. Toys That Kill evolved from the ashes of F.Y.P (F.Y.P named its swan song album "Toys That Kill" in 2000). spawning the new band the same way the band ALL grew off from the Descendents. F.Y.P's "Toys That Kill" album was a perfect appetizer for the first proper Toys That Kill album, 2001's melodic lo-fi punk masterpiece, "The Citizen Abortion". 2003's "Control The Sun" is just as strapping, and now the band returns with what is possibly their strongest release to date, "Shanked!" Also available on CD for listeners who prefer their raw punk diluted digitally, Shanked! is one of the finest albums of the new millenium. Toys That Kill manages to mix their juvenile sensibility with post-punk complexity to creat songs that both fans of simple raw punk and fans of innovative mature punk can worship. The lyrics are as tounge-in-cheek as ever, but also contain tinges of sorrow and politics that begin to creep in on their previous albums. Standout tracks include "Bomb Sniffin' Dogs" (Bomb sniffin' dongs at my door/My rabbits foot was their hors d'oeuvre), "They Tied Up All Our Lace" (And when the hearts are bumpin' and you still feel nothin/Just act real cool cause they do that shit on reality TV), and "31 Year Old Daydream" (The rain came down as i started this song/A song where i wanted to say all thats wrong/ About backstabbers and boring scenes/ But i'm a 31 year old daydream). The recording captures the band's live sound tremendously, not an easy task given the tenuous fine line Toys That Kill straddles between acuity and sloppiness. The temptation to record a band like Toys That Kill with super-clean production values and add distortion post production must weigh heavy on their engineers, but the production here sounds like much of it was done live. Many of the garage-rock bands of today rely on effects to achieve a lo-fi sound, but Toys That Kill's production seems to focus on making the records sounds as authentically like the band's live show as possible. Having seen Toys That Kill perform three times (once on each coast and once in the Midwest), I must note that they are simply amazing live. F.Y.P were always too sloppy for comfort at their concerts, oftentimes so off that their fans couldn't even tell what songs they were playing. Unlike FYP, Toys That Kill is one of the best live bands of our time, delivering the goods consistently, whether it's at a show in their hometown or on the road. Shanked! is as fine an introduction to Toys That Kill as any. Let's hope their next three albums are essential as the initial trilogy.

—Art Ettinger / Punk Planet



Go here
TOYS THAT KILL - Shanked! 
Download individual tracks or immediate download of 9-track album in your choice of high-quality MP3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.


Recess #101

    Out of Stock
    bottom of page